Welcome to the Archives

Parties in Uttarakhand Elections

ballotboxAt long last, I have been able to compile a roster of political parties that are contesting the state elections this February. Both national and state party president or general secretaries have been listed, according to information that has been compiled from various news clippings and press releases. This list is valid as of January 31.

The number of parties this time is overwhelming, pointing to a worsening fragmentation of the polity. Very few poll alliances have been forged except that between the UKD, CPI, and ULV on one hand (the Friends of Uttarakhand slate), and the MKD and BKP on the other, supposedly to represent plains interests.

Only a few parties are contesting more than 50 seats (INC, BJP, BSP, BJS, UKD), while others such as the CPI and CPM are choosing to focus their resources on a few select constituencies.

Party Abbr. National Chief State Chief
Bahujan Kranti Party BKP   Isham Singh
Bahujan Samaj Party BSP Mayawati RK Barman
Bharat Punarnirman Dal BPD Ajit Shukla  
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Rajnath Singh BC Khanduri
Bharatiya Janshakti Party BJS Uma Bharti Ravindra Pant
Communist Party of India CPI AB Bardhan Samar Bhandari
Communist Party of India Marxist CPM Prakash Karat Vijay Rawat
Gorkha Democratic Front GDF   Surya Bikram Shahi
Indian Justice Party IJP Udit Raj Sheesh Pal Arya
Indian National Congress INC Sonia Gandhi Harish Rawat
Janata Dal Secular JDS Deve Gowda Mukesh Chand Verma
Janata Dal United/Samata JDU Sharad Yadav Anurag Kumar
Jawan Kisan Morcha JKM Shesh Mani Laxman Singh
Lok Janshakti Party LJP Ram Vilas Paswan Govind Singh Negi
Maidani Kranti Dal MKD   Maulana Masood Madani
National Loktantrik Party NLP   Ashok Kumar
Nationalist Congress Party NCP Sharad Pawar Suryakant Dasmana
Rashtriya Lok Dal RLD Ajit Singh Aslam Khan
Samajwadi Party SP Mulayam Singh Yadav Vinod Barthwal
Shiv Sena SHS Bal Thackeray Tejpal Singh Panwar
Uttarakhand Kranti Dal UKD   BD Raturi
Uttarakhand Lok Vahini ULV   Shamsher Singh Bisht
Uttarakhand Vikas Party UVP   Sardar Ahmed Khan
Uttaranchal Sikh Federation USF   Gurdeep Singh ‘Tony’
Vishwa Vikas Sangh VVS   Sitaram Sharma

Names in italics represent parties that are currently represented in the state assembly.